The Illinois Safety Belt Law
Revised July 3, 2003____________________________________________________________
Each driver and front seat passenger of a motor vehicle
operated on a street or highway in this State shall wear a
properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt; except
that, a child less than 16 years of age shall be protected
as required pursuant to the Child Passenger Protection Act.
Each driver under the age of 18 years and each of the
driver’s passengers under the age of 18 years of a motor
vehicle operated on a street or highway in this State shall
wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
Each driver of a motor vehicle transporting a child 6 years
of age or more, but less than 16 years of age, in the front
seat of the motor vehicle shall secure the child in a
properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
- A driver or passenger frequently stopping and
leaving the vehicle or delivering property from the
vehicle, if the speed of the vehicle between stops
does not exceed 15 miles per hour.
- A driver or passenger possessing a written
statement from a physician that such person is
unable, for medical or physical reasons, to wear a
seat safety belt.
- A driver or passenger possessing an official
certificate or license endorsement issued by the
appropriate agency in another state or country
indicating that the driver is unable for medical,
physical, or other valid reason to wear a seat
- A driver operating a motor vehicle in reverse.
- A motor vehicle with a model year prior to 1965.
- A motorcycle or motor driven cycle.
- A motorized pedal cycle.
- A motor vehicle which is not required to be
equipped with seat safety belts under federal law.
- A motor vehicle operated by a rural letter carrier
of the United States Postal Service while performing
duties as a rural letter carrier.
Failure to wear a seat safety belt in violation of
this Section shall not be considered evidence of negligence,
shall not limit the liability of an insurer, and shall not
diminish any recovery for damages arising out of the
ownership, maintenance, or operation of motor vehicle.
A violation of this Section shall be a petty offense and
subject to a fine not to exceed $25.
A law enforcement officer may not search or inspect a motor
vehicle, its contents, the driver, or a passenger solely
because of a violation of Section 12-603.1 of the Illinois
Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 625, Act 5, Section