Illinois Department of Transportation, Erica Borggren, Acting Secretary
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info

May 12, 2014

Paris Ervin 217.782.5025
Jae Miller 312.814.4693

New Illinois State Freight Advisory Council Underway

Members to Work to Improve Freight Transportation in Illinois

HODGKINS – The Illinois Department of Transportation joined members of the new Illinois State Freight Advisory Council for its first meeting at the United Parcel Service facility in Hodgkins on Monday. The council is composed of 42 members, representing both the private and public sectors, with extensive experience and expertise in the multimodal movement of freight.

The council will advise the Illinois Department of Transportation on the best policies and practices for improving freight transportation statewide, helping to maintain the state’s position as the freight hub of the nation.

The council’s first meeting was held at United Parcel Service’s (UPS) 1.5 million-square-foot Chicago Area Consolidated Hub facility in Hodgkins, Illinois where more than 4,000 trailers are received and dispatched daily serving customers throughout North America.

“We are grateful to UPS, a private enterprise that must operate at such a high level of logistics through Illinois’ freight system, for hosting our first council meeting and bringing together this accomplished group of people to help us continue to build a successful integrated system to move freight in Illinois,” said Secretary Schneider. “This is an opportunity to build on what has already been accomplished and create a strategic plan for freight mobility for the future.”

Members of the Illinois State Freight Advisory Council include representatives from the shipping and freight industries, agriculture, manufacturing, academia, economic development and local government.

The panel of experts, with extensive knowledge of the state’s system of highways, waterways, airports and railroads, will advise IDOT and other state agencies on all issues involving freight transportation. An initial focus will be on the Long Range State Transportation Plan, the Freight Mobility Plan and the State Rail Plan.

The council is patterned after the U.S. Department of Transportation’s National Freight Advisory Committee, which Secretary Schneider was appointed to chair last year. The council members are:

  • Ann L. Schneider, Illinois Transportation Secretary, Illinois Department of Transportation
  • Kristi Lafleur, Executive Director, Illinois State Toll Highway Authority
  • Larry Walsh, Will County Executive
  • Rebekah Scheinfeld, Commissioner, Chicago Department of Transportation
  • Bruce Bird, Macon County Engineer, Illinois Association of County Engineers
  • Ken Ryan, Director of Cargo, Chicago-Rockford International Airport
  • Matt Hart, Executive Director, Illinois Trucking Association
  • Don Schaefer, Executive Vice President, Midwest Truckers Association
  • Spencer White, Senior Vice President, Genesee & Wyoming, Inc.
  • Michael Forde, Chairman, Illinois International Port District
  • Mike McCarthy, President, Terminal Railroad Association of St. Louis
  • Jeff Gurnik, Senior Manager, Central Region Field Operations, APL, Ltd.
  • Ed O’Neil, Director, Integrated Logistics, Caterpillar, Inc.
  • Eric Gilbert, Senior Vice President, Infrastructure & Logistics, CenterPoint Properties
  • James Ford, Project Executive, Clayco, Inc.
  • Paul Wellhausen, Executive Vice President, Lewis and Clark Fleeting, LLC
  • Robert Nathan, Co-Founder & CEO, Load Delivered Logistics, LLC
  • Merritt Harrison, General Manager, Maritime Delivery Services, Inc.
  • Adam Roth, Executive Vice President, NAI Hiffman
  • William McInerney, retired Founder & CEO, Phoenix International Freight Services, Ltd
  • Robert Stock, President & Owner, Stock Transport, Inc.
  • Raymond Drake, Vice President State Government Affairs, United Parcel Service
  • John Greuling, President & CEO, Will County Center for Economic Development
  • Ed Barry, Research Analyst, Chicago Laborers District Council LMCC
  • Bill Taft, Logistics Division Manager, Growmark, Inc.
  • Benjamin Brockschmidt, Executive Director, Infrastructure Council, Illinois Chamber of Commerce
  • Kevin Rund, Senior Director of Local Governments, Illinois Farm Bureau
  • Scott Sigman, Director, Transport & Trade, Illinois Soybean Association
  • Daniel Eichholz, Associate Director, Illinois Petroleum Council
  • Thomas Vander Woude, Deputy Executive Director, Transportation & Infrastructure, South Suburban Mayors and Managers Association
  • Kate Brown, Volunteer, Truck Safety Coalition
  • Christopher Clott, Dean, College of Business and Health Administration, University of St. Francis
  • Yanfeng Ouyang, Associate Professor, Civil & Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois
  • Libby Ogard, President, Prime Focus, LLC
  • James Wolfe, Chairman and CEO, Knight Partners, LLC
  • Wes Lujan, Public Affairs for Illinois, Union Pacific Railroad
  • Paul Piekarski, Chairman, Illinois State Legislative Board, Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers and Trainmen
  • Mark Poulos, Executive Director, Indiana, Illinois, Iowa Foundation for Fair Contracting
  • Shoshiwa Mabina , Program Coordinator, IDOT Highway Construction, City Colleges of Chicago (Kennedy-King College)
  • Omar Duque, President, Illinois Hispanic Chamber of Commerce
  • Mark D. Schweitzer, Managing Director of Intermodal and International Freight, Archer Daniels Midland Company
  • John Yonan, Superintendent, Cook County Department of Transportation and Highways

For more information about the Illinois Freight Advisory Council, please visit


IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA