Illinois Department of Transportation, Erica Borggren, Acting Secretary
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info

April 22, 2011

Josh Kauffman (IDOT) 217.558.0517
Guy Tridgell (IDOT) 312.814.4693

Illinois Transportation Secretary Announces Winners of 2011 Rain Barrel Contest

Schools Receive Barrels in Conjunction With Earth Day

SPRINGFIELD –Illinois Transportation Secretary Gary Hannig today announced the winners of the 2011 Rain Barrel Contest. The selected schools received free rain barrels as their creative ideas were chosen as part of the annual contest, promoting green and sustainable practices while enhancing artistic abilities. The winners were recognized in conjunction with Earth Day.

“We strongly commend the winners of the 2011 Rain Barrel Contest for their hard work, dedication and artistic ability to help preserve and sustain our environment at a local level,” said Illinois Transportation Secretary Gary Hannig. “IDOT is proud to partner with the Illinois Department of Corrections on this award-winning contest and will continue to utilize creative and cost-effective green initiatives to positively impact the state.”

Elementary school districts across the state received, via email, a blank template of a rain barrel’s exterior for the students to decorate. Winning entries were chosen by IDOT based on which designs best promote water re-use. Creativity and artistic quality were considered.

The contest idea earned IDOT a Green Government Award for 2010 from the Illinois Green Government Coordinating Council at the recent Annual Sustainable Symposium in Springfield. The award, based on demonstrating an exceptional commitment to improving the environmental quality of Illinois, was in the Water Quality & Conservation category.

Illinois Correctional Industries, a division of the Illinois Department of Corrections (IDOC) donated the rain barrels at no cost to taxpayers, as part of the IDOC recycling program.

The barrels were used previously to store liquid hand soap.

The winners of the 2011 Rain Barrel Contest listed by location, school and name are as followed:

*Algonquin, Mackeben Elementary School, Ben Tabor

*Alton, West Elementary School, Jade Glissen

*Arlington Heights, St. Peter Lutheran, Halle Steinke

*Belleville, Belleville EMG, January Probst

*Bradley, Bradley West Elementary School, Izabel Black

*Bushnell, Bushnell Prairie Elementary, Zoey Bryant

*Coal City, Coal City Intermediate School, Jordan Nee

*Collinsville, Good Shepherd Lutheran School, Faith Mayfield

*Crystal Lake, Woods Creek Elementary, McKenzie Wilson

*Decatur, Brush College Elementary, Aryanna Tuttle

*Decatur, Enterprise Elementary, Sebastian Luthy and Melvin Knox

*Decatur , Michael E. Baum School, Madison Dias-Armstrong

*Decatur, Oak Grove Elementary, Tyler Orme

*Flossmoor, Western Avenue School, Josie Bachus

*Glencoe, West School, Rachel Glucksman

*Granite City, Worthen Elementary, Megan Lalich

*Havana, New Central Elementary, Faith Stambaugh

*Hoffman Estates, Frank C. Whiteley Elementary, Paige Dirkes-Jacks

*Hoyleton, Hoyleton Grade School, Kristi King

*Ingleside, Big Hollow School, Jazmin Rosario

*LaGrange, Cossitt School, Charlotte Trecartin

*LaSalle, Northwest Elementary School, Noah Willis

*Lemont, Oakwood School, Parker Bozzi

*Libertyville, Rockland Elementary School, Kara Cannon

*Lombard, St. Pius X School, Ryan Trost

*Milford, Milford Grade School, Lily Atwood

*Mt. Pulaski, Mt. Pulaski Grade School, Konjit Mott

*Normal, Prairieland Elementary School, K.C DeCremer

*Northfield, Sunset Ridge School, Susan Elfman

*Odell, Odell Grade School, Gavin Wykes

*Ottawa, McKinley Elementary School, Chloe Bruck and Emily Joanis

*Palatine, Lincoln Elementary, Earth Club members--Peri Kasanders, Anna Froehling, Elena Maciel, Emili Llanos, Gabrielle Cervantes, Lesley De La Torre, Weronika Kosinska, Campbell Boston and Dane Roberts

*Park Ridge, George Washington Elementary, Evie Costigan

*Prospect Heights, St. Alphonsus Liguori School, Ashley Elenz

*Rockford, Marsh Elementary School, Nelly Romero and America Carreno

*Schaumburg, Hoover Elementary, Krishna Murali

*Skokie, Elizabeth Meyer School, Miles Donegan

*Skokie, Middleton Elementary School, Kayla Huang

*Springfield, Marsh Elementary School, Winning Team—Olivia Santos, Devonte Shell, Miles Eubanks and Jacelyn Garcia

*Winnetka, Hubbard Woods School, Abigail Kelly

*Woodstock, Westwood Elementary School, Olivia Chambers

For more information regarding IDOT’s green initiatives and sustainability efforts, please visit

IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA