The Illinois Safety Belt Law
Revised April 1, 2002____________________________________________________________
- Each driver and front seat passenger of a motor vehicle
operated on a street or highway in this State shall wear a
properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt; except
that, a child less than 16 years of age shall be protected
as required pursuant to the Child Passenger Protection Act.
- Each driver under the age of 18 years and each of
the driver's passengers under the age of 18 years of a motor
vehicle operated on a street or highway in this State shall
wear a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety belt.
- Each driver of a motor vehicle transporting a child 6
years of age or more, but less than 16 years of age, in
the front seat of the motor vehicle shall secure the
child in a properly adjusted and fastened seat safety
- A driver or passenger frequently stopping and leaving
the vehicle or delivering property from the vehicle, if
the speed of the vehicle between stops does not exceed
15 miles per hour.
- A driver or passenger possessing a written statement
from a physician that such person is unable, for medical
or physical reasons, to wear a seat safety belt.
- A driver or passenger possessing an official
certificate or license endorsement issued by the
appropriate agency in another state or country
indicating that the driver is unable for medical,
physical, or other valid reason to wear a seat safety
- A driver operating a motor vehicle in reverse.
- A motor vehicle with a model year prior to 1965.
- A motorcycle or motor driven cycle.
- A motorized pedalcycle
- A motor vehicle which is not required to be equipped
with seat safety belts under federal law.
- A motor vehicle operated by a rural letter carrier of
the United States Postal Service while performing duties
as a rural letter carrier.
Failure to wear a seat safety belt in violation of this
Section shall not be considered evidence of negligence,
shall not limit the liability of an insurer, and shall not
diminish any recovery for damages arising out of the
ownership, maintenance, or operation of motor vehicle.
A violation of this Section shall be a petty offense and
subject to a fine not to exceed $25.
No motor vehicle, or driver or passenger of such vehicle,
shall be stopped or searched by any law enforcement officer
solely on the basis of a violation or suspected violation of
Illinois Compiled Statutes, Chapter 625, Act 5, Section