Illinois Department of Transportation, Erica Borggren, Acting Secretary
Loading
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info


Illinois Child Passenger Protection Act
*2002 Updates*

Public Act #83-8, The Child Passenger Protection Act, has been in effect in Illinois
since July 1, 1983. The law, amended effective January 1, 2002 requires anyone who
transports children in Illinois in non-commercial vehicles to do so in the following
manner:

  • Children under the age of four years must be secured in an approved child restraint system, more commonly called a child safety seat. Child safety seats include infant seats, convertible seats (rear-facing for infants and forward-facing for toddlers) and booster seats that are used with the vehicle lap and shoulder belt system.
  •  
  • Children and young people four and up to 16 years of age must be secured in either a child safety seat or seat belt.
  •  
  • The parent or legal guardian of a child under the age of four years is responsible for providing a child safety seat to anyone who transports his or her child..
  •  
  • Every person under the age of 18 years who transports a child six years of age or older (up to 18 years) is responsible for securing that child in a properly adjusted and fastened safety belt.
  • Those found in violation of the law the first time will be fined $50, which is waived upon proof of possession of an approved safety seat. Subsequent violations are punishable by a $100 fine.







     

    IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA