Illinois Department of Transportation, Ann L. Schneider, Secretary
Loading
Patrick J. Quinn, Governor
Traveling PublicMapsProjectsRoad ClosuresNewsDoing BusinessLetting & BiddingCareers@IDOTGeneral Info


DIVISION OF AERONAUTICS

Plane and Pilot Registration Renewal

Illinois Pilot and Aircraft Registration Issues

Information for Pilots and Aircraft Owners Registering with the State of Illinois. The following are some of our most frequently asked registration questions.

Pilot Registration Requirements

Who is Required to Register a Federal Airman Certificate with the State of Illinois?
Illinois State Law (620 ILCS 5/42 & 43) requires the registration of federal licenses, permits or certificates of Illinois residents who are pilots engaged in air navigation within Illinois.

Who is Exempt from the Registration Requirements?

  • A pilot operating only military or public aircraft engaged in government business.
  • A student pilot who has not soloed.
  • A pilot operating only aircraft engaged in interstate or foreign commerce.
  • A pilot, who is a non-resident of Illinois, and is lawfully entitled to operate aircraft in the State of  his/her residence.
  • How Often Should I Register and What is the Fee?
    Registration is for a two year calendar cycle.  Each cycle begins January 1 on all even years and expires December 31 of the following odd year.  Renewal notices are mailed at the beginning of each cycle.  When registering within the first year of the cycle, the fee is $10.00.  Registering within the second year of the cycle is $5.00.

    What are My Benefits When I Register?
    Registration fees help offset the cost of providing the following:

    Safety Seminars. Seminars covering IFR/VFR flight, maintenance, ultralight safety, flight instructor clinics, helicopters and other topics are held throughout the state.   The seminars bring leading aviation specialists to Illinois and focus on safety. Attendance is free to all registered pilots.
    Safer Airports. Inspection of public airports to be sure they meet safety standards.

     Back to Top 

    Aircraft Registration Requirements

    Who is Required to Register a Federal Aircraft Certificate with the State of Illinois?
    Illinois State Law requires aircraft owners who reside in Illinois and fly their aircraft within this state to register with the Department.

    Who is Exempt from the Registration Requirements?

  • An aircraft operated only by a dealership while demonstrating to a potential buyer.
  • An aircraft owned and operated for government business.
  • An aircraft operated principally in interstate commerce.
  • An aircraft not flown in Illinois.
  • An aircraft this is not airworthy.
  • An out of state aircraft owner who is registered or lawfully entitled to navigate in his/her state of      residence.
  • Aircraft licensed by a foreign country which has reciprocal agreement with the United States Government.
  • Should Illinois Residents Who Base Outside of the State Register?
    Only if the aircraft is navigated within Illinois.

    How Often Should I Register and What is the Fee?
    Registration is for a two year calendar cycle. Each cycle begins January 1 on all even years and expires December 31 of the following odd year.  Renewal notices are mailed at the beginning of each cycle. When registering within the first year of the cycle, the fee is $20.00.  Registering within the second year of the cycle is $10.00.

    Is Illinois Tax Due When I Purchase A New or Used Aircraft?
    Illinois Sales/Use Tax is due when an aircraft is purchased at retail for use in the State of Illinois. In addition, beginning 7/1/2003, the acquisition of an aircraft by gift, donation, transfer or non-retail purchase is subject to Aircraft Use Tax if the aircraft will be used in Illinois.

    How Do I Get Tax Help?
    You can get assistance by contacting the Illinois Department of Revenue in the following manner:

  • Call the Taxpayer Assistance Division at
        1-800-732-8866 or (217) 782-3336 or TDD at 1-800-544-5304.
  • Write to:  Illinois Department of Revenue - PO Box 19044 - Springfield, Illinois 62794-9044
  • Visit the Web site www.revenue.state.il.us.

    Where Do I Apply for Registration?

  • Call Pilot and Aircraft Registration Services at 1-800-554-0247.

  • Download the applications and mail them in at the address below.
    AIRCRAFT REGISTRATION   PILOT REGISTRATION
    Download Aircraft Registration Application (fillable)   Download the Piolt registration Form (Fillable)
         
    Download Aircraft Registration Application (non-fillable)   Download the Pilot Registration Form (non-fillable)


  • Write Pilot and Aircraft Registration Services at:
    Illinois Department of Transportation
    Division of Aeronautics
    Pilot and Aircraft Registration
    1 Langhorne Bond Drive
    Springfield, Illinois 62707-8415
    E-mail at aero@dot.il.gov

     Back to Top 

  • IDOT Privacy Statement | Illinois Privacy Information | Kids Privacy | Web Accessibility  | FOIA