District 3 Utility Permit Applications
The permit applications and forms available on this page are designed for use within Region 2 - District
3 includes the Counties of: Bureau, DeKalb, Ford, Grundy, Iroquois, LaSalle,
Livingston, Kankakee, and Kendall.
A permit is required when working within the right of way of an Interstate, U.S., State highway or State maintained route. A permit must be obtained prior to the start of any work and a copy of the approved permit must be at the worksite at all times. There are two types of permits for work within State right of way:
- Utility Permit – Utility Companies working within right of way
- Highway Permit – All non-utility companies (municipalities, residential,
commercial, agricultural, etc.) working within right of way
A Utility permit is required for work performed by Utility Companies or their representatives for the installation of new utilities, relocation of existing utilities, maintenance of utility facilities, and tree trimming/removal requests to accommodate utility work. Submit 5 copies of the Utility Permit application along with required attachments to the District 3 office for approval and processing.
Downloadable Utility Permits and Related MaterialThe files are available in Microsoft Word format. The Word documents are set up with form fields. You should be able to tab through the fields and fill in much of the required data via your PC before printing and signing.
IDOT Reference Material
Other Reference Material
- 90 Day Utility Relocation Law
Select Chapter 605 Roads and Bridges
Select 605 ILCS 5/Illinois Highway Code
Select Article 9 - General Highway Provisions
Accommodation of Utilities on Right-of-Way - Rule, Title 92
Guide to what is allowable when the permit application is submitted to our office. This guide is to help determine what is appropriate when it comes to placing utilities on the right-of-way. The most common requests come from private placement of utilities, municipalities, or utility company requests to do work on state property.
Illinois law requires all persons digging, regardless of the depth of the project, to call JULIE at 1-800-892-0123 at least 48 hours (two working days) prior to the start of excavation and to begin that excavation project within 14 calendar days from calling JULIE. (The 48 hour notice does not include Saturdays, Sundays or holidays.) Failure to contact JULIE prior to excavation in accordance with the law can carry penalties from $200 up to $5,000 for each separate offense. The Illinois Commerce Commission is the enforcement body for the law, not JULIE.
On July 27th, 2001 , Governor Ryan signed House Bill 2138 (Public Act 92-0179) revising the Illinois Underground Utility Facilities Damage Prevention Act. The Act outlines the responsibilities of underground of utility facility operators and excavators with regard to notifying the State-Wide One-Call Notice System (otherwise known as "JULIE"), marking the underground utility facilities, and excavating near utility facilities. One of the revisions to the Act was to make the Illinois Commerce Commission responsible for enforcement of violations of the Act.
- MUTCD (National Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices